Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships 2022-2023

Brief explanation:

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are open to students from Commonwealth nations who wish to pursue two-year Master’s degree programs in a very low- or middle-income country other than their home country (QECS).

The scholarships provide a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for students who are dedicated to bringing about change in their communities to experience a different nation and culture, extend their perspectives, and form a worldwide network that will last a lifetime.

SEE ALSO: 2021/2022 Joint Japan World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars support positive change and identify answers to common difficulties in both their home countries and those that host them via cultural interaction and educational partnership.

Institution(s) hosting:

University of the South Pacific; University of Sri Jayewardenepura; Land National University; University of Johannesburg; Rhodes University; University of Stellenbosch; University of Venda; North-West University; Tshwane University of Technology; University of Pretoria; Papua Papua University of Technology; University of Namibia; IBMBB, University of Colombo; University of Sri Jayewardenepura; The University of the South Pacific;

Study level and field(s):

2 year master’s degrees in qualifying subjects at the institutions mentioned above. All courses that qualify can be found on the official website (link provided below).

Total number of awards:

Not specified

target audience:

Citizens of Commonwealth nations and those with an expatriate status.
Scholarship worth and components:
For the duration of the grant, the scholarship covers both the full cost of tuition as well as a regular stipend for living expenses. The scholarship also includes an arrival payment, an analysis assistance grant, and round-trip economy airfares to and from the host nation. Only upon request and subject to approval, a research grant may be given.

SEE ALSO: University of Calgary Scholarships for International Students 2023 


Candidates must be registered to vote in Commonwealth nations or have expatriate status, and they must only apply for two-year Masters programs offered at partner universities in qualifying low- to middle-income Commonwealth nations. Except for their own nation, they must be applying to check in a Commonwealth nation with very low to moderate financial gains.

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are only available for eligible Masters degree programs offered at collaborating universities in the following countries and regions: Sri Lanka, South Pacific, South Africa, Papua Papua, and Namibia for students who are applying for Cycle 2, 2020, for studies beginning in January or February 2021.

SEE ALSO: 2021/2022 Winnipeg President’s Scholarships for World Leaders

There is no upper age restriction for qualification for a QECS Award. Candidates must have have earned their bachelor’s degree and have a 2:1 grade point average. Awards from QECS are only given to new students; they cannot be used to pay for courses that have already.

Application guidelines:

The application period has ended.
Although applicants are encouraged to apply for their preferred course of study before or at the same time as applying for a QECS award, they are not required to do so before submitting an application for the QECS. In addition to completing a QECS application, you must apply directly to the university for admission to the course of your choice. You must go to the admissions and application pages of the websites of the universities you have chosen.

The deadline for Cycle 2 2020 scholarship applications is 9 Gregorian calendar months from now for courses starting in January or February 2021.

Visit the official website (link provided below) immediately for thorough instructions on how to apply for this scholarship.


Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships’ official website is at https://www.acu.ac.uk/funding-opportunities/for-students/scholarships/



Leave a Comment